important: We are currently updating the settings for Google search services (Search, Maps, Shopping, Flights, Hotels, Translation, News, etc.). These updates will be rolled out gradually over the next few months. If the settings in this article do not match what you see on your screen, your search history and personalized recommendations will continue to beWeb and app activityManaged by.
Timeline automatically saves your visits and directions to Google Maps Timeline on each device you’re signed in to, so you can go back in time and see where you’ve been. You can edit your Google Maps timeline or delete your timeline data at any time.
- When you back up your timeline data, an encrypted copy of your data is stored on Google’s servers.
- If you lose or damage your device, you can import your data to another device if you turn on backup.
important: Timeline is available in Google Maps app version 11.106 and later. If you’re using an earlier version of the Google Maps app,Update appPlease. Timeline is not available on Android Go devices.
Turn on timeline
Check your movement history
When you turn on Timeline, your Google Maps Timeline shows your location and transportation options (walking, biking, car, public transit, etc.).
- On your Android smartphone or tablet, use the Google Maps app
Open.
- Profile photo or initials
(timeline)
Tap.
- To change the day or month to check, click ( at the top of the screen).today). Swipe left or right on the calendar and tap the date.
Tips: You can switch between the tabs at the top of the screen (Locations, Cities, All Regions, etc.) to see insights about the places you visit.
Edit your Google Maps timeline
important: When you edit your timeline, you can choose whether to share your edits and related data with Google. By sharing, your timeline will more accurately reflect the places you’ve visited and help us improve the map. This setting is Google My ActivityYou can manage it with
Change the places you’ve visited and the activities you’ve done
Switch between miles and km units
To change the distance units displayed in Google Maps:
- On your Android smartphone or tablet, use the Google Maps app
Open.
- Profile photo or initials
(setting)
(navigation).
- (unit of distance), (automatic)、(kilo)、(miles).
Delete timeline data
important: When you delete timeline data, the data is permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. However, your timeline data may still be stored on other devices or timeline backups.Search service historyorWeb and app activityEven if you turn off Timeline or delete previously saved Timeline data, other location data may be stored in your Google Account as you use other Google sites, apps, and services if other settings, such as , are turned on.
for example,(Search service history) settings, your device’s approximate location and other location information, such as location based on your IP address, may be saved as part of your searches and Maps activity. Also, depending on the camera app settings, location information may be recorded in photos. Other settings, such as Web and App Activity, may also include location information based on your device’s approximate location and IP address.
You can manage and delete your timeline data in Google Maps Timeline. You can delete all or only part of your history.
- If you edit or delete timeline data on one device, those changes won’t be reflected on other devices.
- Resetting your device to factory settings or deleting your Google Play Services data will remove Timeline data from your device.
Delete timeline data for a specified period
Delete one day’s worth of timeline data
Delete visit history from timeline
Delete timeline data automatically
You can set timeline data to be automatically deleted after 3, 18, or 36 months.
- On your Android smartphone or tablet, use the Google Maps app
Open.
- Profile photo or initials
(timeline)
Tap.
- More icon in the top right
(Location and privacy settings).
- (Location settings) and (Auto delete timeline).
- Follow the on-screen instructions.
Turn off timeline
To turn off the timeline:
- On your Android smartphone or tablet, use the Google Maps app
Open.
- Profile photo or initials
(timeline)
Tap.
- Other icons
(Location and privacy settings).
- (Timeline is on).
- (Timeline) pull-down menu, select (turn off) or (Turn off and delete activity).
Improve timeline accuracy
What you see on Google Maps Timeline can sometimes be incorrect. For example, in densely populated urban areas, you may be shown the restaurant next to the restaurant where you actually ate.
You can help make your timeline more accurate and less likely to make mistakes by saving your activity to your Google Account. For more information,How to use search service historyPlease take a look.
Convenient usage
Check the date of the last visit to the location
If you’ve visited a place on your timeline, you can see when you last visited it in Google Maps.
- On your Android smartphone or tablet, use the Google Maps app
Open.
- Search for a location or tap it on the map.
- Scroll to the bottom.
- (Visit history and map history).
Tips: This information only appears if the location has been added to that device’s timeline.
Show your home or work on your timeline
If you have saved your home or work address with Google, it will also appear on your Timeline. In addition to Timeline, the information you save may be used by other Google products and services.
For more information,How to set your home or work addressPlease take a look.
Manage your own information
Timeline in your Google Account is turned off by default and can only be turned on if you opt in.
Timelines are retained based on your auto-delete settings or until you delete them. Account timelineGoogle My ActivityYou can turn it off or delete it all at any time.How to delete only part of your timeline in Google MapsPlease take a look.
How to manage timeline dataPlease also see.
Related resources
This page may contain content translated using AI technology. AI translations may contain errors.